Quirky Baker

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Whole Wheat Bread: TWD/Baking with Julia September 18, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — jane @ 11:05 am

This recipe seemed pretty easy to follow. The only changes I made were to cut the recipe in half ( since it was new and I wasn’t sure I would like it), and to use molasses instead of malt extract. I made the dough in my heavy duty Viking mixer and it was super easy. No kneading, Amazing!! I set the dough in the bowl to rise and continued with my cookie baking. After 11/2 hours it looked beautiful. I made the loaf as instructed and set it to rise again. After about an hour I put it in the oven  to bake. I tested it at 32 minutes and it wasn’t quite done, 3 more minutes and it reached 200 degrees. It came out of the pan easily and looked nice. The kitchen assistant had a piece with honey and said it was really good. The response to the bread was much better then the response to the cookie  I had made earlier. I thought the cookie was fantastic, the assistant thought it was too busy!  Who ever heard of a cookie being too busy!! I have yet to taste the bread, but plan on eating it for breakfast in the morning. Hopefully I will agree with the assistant on this one.

 

9 Responses to “Whole Wheat Bread: TWD/Baking with Julia”

  1. Teresa Says:

    I think I’d be too busy eating the cookie to call it busy…

    Your loaf turned out beautifully!

  2. Ckay Says:

    Multitasking , wow!
    I can see, you’ve used the thermometer: it has left its signature on your beautiful loaf :-)

    This is my favourite recipe from the book so far. Such a versatile bread is a dream!
    We had it toasted and not-toasted with butter and honey or butter and jam,
    we use it for sandwiches or anytime we like to eat bread.

  3. Your loaf looks great!

    Carmen

  4. Cher Says:

    Cookies. Bread – can I come live with you :-)

  5. I really like your picture … and especially the bread knife. It looks as if it could tell us some bread stories…
    Blessings, Catherine http://www.praycookblog.com

  6. oven chaos Says:

    :) The assistant knows ’cause there are so many different options with a slice of bread. Nice looking and tasting, I am sure, bread!

  7. Cindy Harris Says:

    I want to taste your ‘busy cookie’! Your bread is beautiful.

  8. Piebird Says:

    Hmmm… Busy cookie? Hope you enjoyed the bread!

  9. Beautiful looking loaf…I thought this bread quite delicious!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.