Quirky Baker

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Popovers : TWD/Baking with Julia August 21, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — jane @ 12:58 pm

I wasn’t excited about this recipe. I missed the last one because I was on vacation in a rustic cabin and just couldn’t pull it off. Thank you Carmen for emailing the recipe!! I have never made popovers and have eaten them a few times. They just don’t seem all that exciting. I borrowed my neighbors popover pan and began the process. The recipe was super easy, I made it in the blender. I filled the pan about 1/3 full and put it in the oven. I followed the instructions and didn’t open the oven for 25 min. I then let them cook at 350 for an additional 7 min. I had read from other peeps that some felt they were overdone if cooked the whole time. They looked good, had risen and came out of the pan easily. I tasted one without any thing on it and was not impressed. I had also just baked a new cookie and that seemed so much more inviting. I am sure the taste would have improved with butter, jam,or honey. I must admit if I am going to eat something that is baked, I am always drawn towards something sweet. These certainly looked pretty, were easy to make but I probably wouldn’t make them again.

 

4 Responses to “Popovers : TWD/Baking with Julia”

  1. Ckay Says:

    Beautiful picture! I’m so longing for a real popover pan!
    You’d love them sweeter? Just sprinkle some sugar (cane, brown, sugar and vanilla, …) over them before baking. I’ve made it (as I have a huge sweet tooth!) and they were delicious.

  2. Cindy Harris Says:

    Butter and jam made them!

  3. Ferda Says:

    I did not even know that there was a baked item called popover before :) They do not have any particular flavour, when I tasted fresh out of the oven, I did not see the point of baking them.. But they go well with honey..

  4. Cher Says:

    Yeah, I can see where the cookie might win :-)
    But these are very good with honey…


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.