Quirky Baker

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blueberry Nectarine Pie :TWD/ Baking with Julia July 31, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — jane @ 6:56 pm

  Pie is not my favorite, pie is the favorite of the kitchen assistant. I looked at the recipe and made a few changes. While I know many crust recipes call for the use of shortening I am not a fan of this ingredient. I used an old recipe (from my mother) that only uses butter in the crust. I also changed the ratio of fruit due to what was in my kitchen. I used 6 peeled nectarines and 11/2 cups of blueberries. I followed the recipe by cooking part of the fruit and then adding it to the uncooked portion. It had quite a bit of liquid so I added 2 TBS of cornstarch. I rolled out the crust, added the fruit and rolled out the top. I cut slits in the top and sprinkled it with cinnamon/sugar.  The pie looked nice and cut quite easily. I thought the flavor was good and the crust very tasty. I expected the kitchen assistant to love this pie, that was not the response I received. Better luck next time!

 

2 Responses to “Blueberry Nectarine Pie :TWD/ Baking with Julia”

  1. Teresa Says:

    I’m sorry your kitchen assistant wasn’t pleased. We enjoyed this pie, but my Mom’s pie crust recipe is still my favourite.

  2. smarkies Says:

    sorry it didn’t go down well with your kitchen assistant. Onto the next project!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.