Quirky Baker

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Oasis Naan: TWD/Baking with Julia June 5, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — jane @ 11:34 am

I was unable to bake for the last TWD  post as I have been baking cookies for my small catering business. I started this venture about 1 year ago and have been really enjoying it. I LOVE to bake cookies. On Sunday I finished a large event and was not sure if I would be up for taking on the Naan. I asked a friend if she had ever made it and she said it was easy and she used to make it all the time. As is often the case, she is an inspiration. After making a batch of cookie dough and putting it in the fridge I made the naan dough. I cut the recipe in half as I often do with a new recipe. Also its hot here in Minneapolis and having the oven at 500 degrees didn’t sound pretty. (the least amount of time the better) I let the dough raise for  about 5 hours  .I then started the oven UGH! and split the dough in 4 pieces. I hadn’t looked at the color picture so had no idea what I was doing or what it should look like. I put different seasonings in each one and left the scallions off. I then noticed there was a color picture, mine didn’t look exactly like that but oh well. I took a bite of the one with cumin, pretty tasty, a little tougher then I had anticipated but good enough to eat. The kitchen assistant is working late so no comment on that front. I am glad I didn’t pass on this post, it needs a bit of work, but it’s good to try something new.

 

3 Responses to “Oasis Naan: TWD/Baking with Julia”

  1. Jane, glad you tried it…it is very delish.

    How cool that you are a caterer and make cookies. :)

    ~Carmen
    http://bakingismyzen.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/twd-baking-with-julia-oasis-naan/

  2. Alice Says:

    Well its neat that you are doing small catering… I kind wish I could do that too but I would get too stressed out with making the orders on time! Your naan looks great – I didnt use the scallions either!

  3. Cher Says:

    I think I would have a very hard time baking for others & keeping up at home. Hats off to you :-)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.